Certification & Licensure

Are you applying for certification or licensure in another state, and planning to use your Kentucky credentials for reciprocity?  If yes, login to your KEMSIS account, navigate to Applications, and choose the Individual Verification Request application, or follow the instructions here:  Public Lookup

​The 2024 Renewal period will open October 1st, 2024 and close December 31st, 2024. 

How-to instructions for reinstatement: Instructions for Applying for Reinstatement.pdf


​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

202 KAR 7:401 Paramedic​

Section A: All Applicants

Paramedic Applicants must meet the below requirements and submit proof of compliance for the following items if requested:

Section B: Initial Applicants

Applicants applying for the first time from a Kentucky approved course must submit the items from Section A and Section B.

  • Proof of NREMT – Paramedic certification
    • Copy of NREMT - Paramedic certification card or certificate
  • Be a Citizen of the United States, a permanent resident of the United States, or otherwise lawfully present in the United States, as evidenced by submission to the board of:
    • Social Security card (Social Security Administration)
    •                                               OR
    • Birth certificate (KY CHFS OVS)
    •                                               OR
    • ​United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) Permanent Resident Card (form I-551/Green Card)
    •                                               OR
    • ​​Other legal authorization to live and work in the United States
  • Proof of successful completion of a board-approved course by evidence of a board-issued course number with training through a KBEMS approved EMS-TEI.
    • Completed KBEMS-E47 Initial Course Completion Verification Form.
    •                                               OR
    • ​Copy of course completion certificate from a KBEMS certified EMS-TEI.
  • Proof of successful completion of education and training regarding determination of death and preservation of evidence as required by KRS 311A. 185. KBEMS approved on-line Determination of Death co​urse (DOD).
  • When all requirements have been met and all documents are readily available to be attached, complete an Initial Certification/License​ application through your KEMSIS account.  Pursuant to 202 KAR 7:030, there is no fee for Initial Paramedic Licensure.  (The biennial Paramedic Renewal fee is $50.00 plus $10.00 for each Advanced Practice Paramedic specialty certification endorsement.)

Section C: Reciprocity Applicants

Applicants who are certified or licensed in a contiguous state to the Commonwealth of Kentucky or by the NREMT as a paramedic or any member of the United States Armed Forces, or veteran who has transitioned within the past six (6) years from the United States Armed Forces, and has been registered by the National Registry as a paramedic or has obtained National Registry as a paramedic by successfully completing a board-approved United States Armed Forces medical training course that meets the National Emergency Medical Services Education Standards for Paramedic, shall be eligible for reciprocity for Kentucky licensure as a paramedic. Applicants applying for reciprocity must submit the items from Section A and Section C.

  • Proof of current, unrestricted NREMT – Paramedic Certification
    • Copy of NREMT – Paramedic certification card or certificate
    •                                               OR
  • ​Proof of current, unrestricted Paramedic certification in a contiguous state to the Commonwealth of Kentucky (Illinois, Indiana, Missouri, Ohio, Tennessee, Virginia, or West Virginia)​​​​​
  •                                                           OR
  • ​​​Proof of completing a board approved United States Armed Forces medical training course which included NREMT-Paramedic certification.​

    If applying using a board approved United States Armed Forces medical training course with an NREMT-EMT or EMT certification the applicant will need to submit proof of completing a board approved bridge course.

    ​​​​​                                                         AND

  • Proof of completing HIV/AIDS training required by KRS 311A.120. KBEMS approved on-line HIV/A​IDS course​
  • Proof of completing Pediatric Abusive Head Trauma as required by KRS 311A.120. KBEMS approved on-line Pediatric Abusive Head Trauma (PAHT) course.
  • Proof of completing Awareness of Sexual Violence training required by KRS 311A.120. KBEMS approved on-line Awareness of Sexual Violence (ASV) training.
  • Proof of successful completion of education and training regarding determination of death and preservation of evidence as required by KRS 311A. 185. KBEMS approved on-line Determination of Death course​ (DOD).
  • When all requirements have been met and all documents are readily available to be attached, complete a Reciprocity Certification/License​ application through your KEMSIS account​, and p​ay the fee of $100.00 required for reciprocity licensure, pursuant to 202 KAR 7:030.

Section D: Reinstatement Applicants

Applicants applying for reinstatement whose Paramedic license has lapsed, must submit the items from Section A and Section D.

Updated February 16th, 2024

C​ritical Care Paramedi​c Checkl​ist​​



Are you looking to obtain Certification/Licensure?  The above provider checklists contain detailed instructions on obtaining Initial, Reinstatement, & Reciprocity in the state of Kentucky.

Still have questions? Contact our certification/licensure department!​








​​