Voluntary EMS Pediatric Recognition Program

Voluntary EMS Pediatric Recognition Program

Many EMS Agencies in Kentucky are willing to go above and beyond the minimum requirements so that they are ready to provide high quality pediatric emergency care. Because pediatric patients are different in many ways from out adult patients, and we see a smaller number of critically ill and injured children, it is even more important to put extra effort into being prepared to care for them when it matters most.

The KYEMSC Voluntary EMS Pediatric Recognition Program honors ​EMS Agencies who meet established criteria, beyond regulatory requirements, which are designed to improve the agency's capabilities to deliver care to pediatric patients.

We want the leaders in our ​profession who have demonstrated a commitment to caring for his vulnerable population to receive the recognition they deserve from both the public and their peers.

2020 decal

2021 Program Awardees

AMR Owensboro-Daviess County

Anderson County EMS

Baptist Health Lousiville EMS

Boyle County EMS

Buechel Fire Protection District

Burlington Fire Protection District

Carlisle County EMS

City of Pikeville Fire and EMS

Georgetown Scott County EMS

Hebron Fire Protection District 

Henry County EMS

Hopkinsville Christian County EMS

Jessamine County EMS

Kings Daughters Medical Transport

Lincoln County EMS

Louisville Metro EMS

Madison County EMS 

Mayfield Graves Fire Department

Medical Center EMS

Murray Calloway County Hospital Ambulance Service

Oldham County EMS

Somerset Pulaski County EMS

St. Matthews Fire Department

Woodford County EMS

Program Documents 

2021 KY Voluntary EMS Pediatric Recognition Handboo​​k

Joint Policy Statement Equipment on Ground Ambulances

2017 NASEMSO Safe Transport of Children by EMS - Interim Guidance

Examples - Agency Report on Previous Year's Activities



Skill Competency Evaluation

Examples - Agency Current Year Plans

Pediatric Recognition Plan Ex, 1

Education Plan Ex. 1

Pediatric Recognition Plan Ex. 2

Pediatric Recognition Plan Ex. 3

Pediatric Recognition Plan Ex. 4

Pediatric Recognition Plan Ex. 5

Examples - Safe Transport Policies 

Transport Policy Ex. 1

Transport Policy Ex. 2

Transport Policy Ex. 3