Training and Educational Institution

​​​​​What is a TEI (Training and Educational Institute)?

TEIs are certified by KBEMS to teach continuing education courses, or courses to certify/license individuals at the levels certified or licensed by KBEMS; Emergency Medical Responder, Emergency Medical Technician, Advanced Emergency Medical Technician, and Emergency Medical Technician-Paramedic.

EMS-TEIs can be certified at the following levels:

EMS-TEI 1: Certified to teach EMR
EMS-TEI 2: Certified to teach EMR and EMT
EMS-TEI 3: Certified to teach EMR, EMT, and AEMT
EMS-TEI 4: Certified to teach EMR, EMT, AEMT, and EMT-P​​​
EMS-TEI CE: Certified to teach Continuing Education Only

*An applicant may seek one or multiple levels of certification during the two year certification term.

The following link connects you to the KBEMS Database, which contains all active Training and Educational Institutions in the state.

TEI Lookup​

You can also access the TEI Directory for detailed information on each licensed TEI.